Defending champion Liverpool helps Premier League kick off its 2020-21 season

It was just over a month ago when the 2019-20 Premier League season wrapped up. On Saturday, the new EPL season kicks off with a four-game slate that includes the defending league champions Liverpool hosting newly promoted Leeds United.

The 2020-21 season kicks off just a month and a half after the previous season completed on July 26. It was a historic campaign, as Liverpool won its first domestic title since 1990. It did so with a commanding 18-point advantage over second-place Manchester City.

Leeds United is among three teams to earn promotion to the Premier League for the 2020-21 season, joined by West Bromwich Albion and Fulham. Bournemouth, Watford and Norwich City were relegated to the Championship.

Elsewhere in Europe, Spain's La Liga season also starts Saturday with three games. The German Bundesliga kicks off its season on Sept. 18 with newly crowned UEFA Champions League winners Bayern Munich hosting FC Schalke 04. Italy's Serie A opens play on Sept. 19. France's Ligue 1 opened its season on Aug. 28.

Christian Pulisic is entering his second season with Chelsea. (Photo: ADAM DAVY, POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

What to know

  • HIGH-PROFILE SIGNINGS: James Rodriguez, Kai Havertz among those on new teams
  • BREAKOUT STARS: USMNT prospect among the youngsters to watch
  • CHRISTIAN PULISIC: Goal of reaching 2022 World Cup always on his mind

The Pulisic hype went next level this week when Chelsea handed the U.S. national team star the iconic No. 10 jersey.

Squad numbers for the 2020/21 season! 🔵

Premier League this weekend

Saturday, Sept. 12

Fulham v. Arsenal, 7:30 a.m. ET (NBC Sports Network)

Crystal Palace v. Southampton, 10 a.m. ET (Peacock)

Liverpool v. Leeds United, 12:30 p.m. ET (NBC)

West Ham v. Newcastle United, 3 p.m. ET (Peacock)

Sunday, Sept. 13

West Brom v. Leicester City, 9 a.m. ET (NBC Sports Network)

Tottenham v. Everton, 11:30 a.m. ET (Peacock)

Monday, Sept. 14

Sheffield United v. Wolverhampton, 1 p.m. ET (NBC Sports Network)

Brighton v. Chelsea, 3:15 p.m. ET (Peacock)

Recent Premier League champions

2019-20: Liverpool

2018-19: Manchester City

2017-18: Manchester City

2016-17: Chelsea

2015-16: Leicester City

2014-15: Chelsea

2013-14: Manchester City

2012-13: Manchester United

2011-12: Manchester City

2010-11: Manchester United

Source: Read Full Article