Prince George, Princess Charlotte, and Prince Louis Receive New Titles

The former Cambridge family members are now the Waleses.

Prince George, 9, Princess Charlotte, 7, and Prince Louis, 4, have new surnames following their parents’ change in titles. On Friday, in his first speech after acceding the throne immediately following the death of Queen Elizabeth II, King Charles announced that Prince William and Princess Kate have inherited the new titles of Prince and Princess of Wales.

Following the title change, the couple’s three kids are now known as Prince George of Wales, Princess Charlotte of Wales, and Prince Louis of Wales. They have also moved up in the line of succession, as the second, third, and fourth in line for the throne.

As for how the new titles immediately affect the kids, the threesome will now go by different names at their school. They were previously known as George Cambridge, Charlotte Cambridge, and Louis Cambridge, and their new names will be George Wales, Charlotte Wales, and Louis Wales.

All three of the Wales kids were set to start at Lambrook School, a preparatory school near William and Kate’s new home base at Adelaide Cottage. Kensington Palace released new photos of the family visiting the school earlier this week, in which the boys wore matching white collared button-downs tucked into navy blue shorts, while Charlotte wore a light blue collared dress.

Following the announcement, a royal source told that William and Kate intend “on deepening the trust and respect of the people of Wales over time” and “will approach their roles in the modest and humble way they’ve approached their work previously.”

They added that while Princess Kate “appreciates the history associated with this role”—meaning the fact that it was once the title of Princess Diana—she also wants “to look to the future as she creates her own path.

Source: Read Full Article